Day 756: Everything you need to know about the world

Last night,  I looked at these two photos I’d taken earlier in the day:

IMG_4871 IMG_4873

I said to my boyfriend Michael, “Don’t these two pictures tell you everything you need to know about the world?” Michael replied, “Yes, they do, Ann.”

Do you think Michael:

  • actually meant that,
  • was humoring me, or
  • had his mind on something else, like what he was going to cook us for dinner?

If those two photos don’t tell you everything you need to know about the world, here are some more photos I took yesterday, that might tell you more:

IMG_4874

IMG_4875 IMG_4876  IMG_4890  IMG_4879

IMG_4892 IMG_4888

IMG_4893

Here are two more things about the world I know that you might not know yet (even after seeing all those photos):

  1. They’re predicting a “historic blizzard” for the Northeastern USA, starting tonight, and
  2. my birthday is a week from today.

You know what?  There’s still more to know, including this:  In my blog, I like to include music that fits the topic du jour. I’m having trouble deciding today, so here are three very different worlds:

You can find that wonderful world here on YouTube.

You can find that mad world here on YouTube. And if you want an eight-minute group-sing about being the world, that’s here:

What’s your favorite “World” song?  And if you want to leave any comment about what you know about the world, you know I’ll be grateful.

Here’s something else I know now: there’s a lot I don’t know about the world (including what Michael  — or anybody else — is really thinking).

Maybe Penny the Pen knows everything you need to know about the world.  If she does, I don’t think she’s telling.

While nobody can tell you everything you need to know about this mad, wonderful world, I can tell you four things I DO know (based on my worldly experience of a week-less-than-62 years):

  1. There’s always more to know about the world.
  2. An open mind helps.
  3. Fear, worry, and shame get in the way.
  4. If you want to be loved, love others.

World-wide thanks to Michael, Penny, snow people, national days of anything, flowers, the few remaining bananas at the supermarket last night, penne pasta, dog treats, doctors, Louis Armstrong, Gary Jules & Michael Andrews, everybody who contributed to “We Are The World,”  and (of course!) you, for showing up here today.

Categories: gratitude, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 45 Comments

Post navigation

45 thoughts on “Day 756: Everything you need to know about the world

  1. Those first 2 photos do sum everything up. Making everyday a national day for something is a good idea, and I love seeing Penny saying hello. One week til your bday? Hope the weather is better than what they are predicting for today! Stay safe

  2. NotAPunkRocker

    I like “Change the World” by Eric Clapton.

    • I like that, too! And I like seeing you here.

      • NotAPunkRocker

        🙂 Thanks! I am not pressed to blog every day now (or yet) so I may finally have time to respond to a lot of the blogs I read (including more of yours).

  3. I love the Louis Armstrong one. For now I could only think of “Across the Universe”, but some also call this song: “Nothing’s Going to Change My World”:

  4. I love those pictures. Apart from being National Ann Day, what food would you want as your birthday food celebration?

    • National Ann Day! How great is that, Alex?

      My birthday, February 2, is Groundhog Day in the USA and groundhogs eat (according to the internet) “wild grasses and other vegetation, including berries and agricultural crops, when available. Groundhogs also eat grubs, grasshoppers, insects, snails and other small animals.”

      I think I’ll stick to macaroni and cheese, if available.

  5. Love the music today Ann.
    p.s. Penny knows.
    Val x

  6. yeseventhistoowillpass

    Sounds like you shopped at Whole Foods?

    • Actually, not. We visit Star Market on Sunday evenings. It’s so great to see your visit here today!

      • yeseventhistoowillpass

        Whole Foods has the same food calender like the one in the picture

      • I’ve seen it. I think their calendars don’t include the same items (for example, “National pizza month”).

  7. There will always be more to learn about this wonderful world we all share. Life is a game of constant learning. Your pictures were lovely, Ann, and Penny is such a wonderfully photogenic model. (Don’t tell her that, though, it might go to her head). I adore the Louis Armstrong song. My mum loved it too. It expresses that timeless message: that the world is simply a wonderful place.

    • Penny is good at accepting compliments, Millie, and she thanks you for increasing her self esteem. I adore your comments and this wonderful one is no exception.

  8. From my writer’s garret, I could only load your words today, Ann. The photos came up as numbers and the videos as “Server not found.” So, I filled in the images with ones from my head, based on all the images you’ve posted in the past.

    I hope that the snowstorm gives you enough snow for beauty but not enough for trouble. I’ll be watching the news. I remember that one of my kids was attending school in Boston a couple of winters ago when there was a big snowfall. The campus shut down and everyone went out and built snow forts.

    • I hope you get to see the photos and hear the music eventually, Maureen. Although, I’m sure the way you filled things in with your imagination was quite beautiful.

      I’ve been feeling a tad anxious about the snowstorm and its effects. Now, thanks to this comment, I’ll be imagining the safety of snow forts.

  9. Glad Penny is getting around so well. She makes the world a better place.
    Looks like you will have a white, white world tomorrow, Ann! We may here, too, in very southern Arizona. I’d love it. There’s nothing like the desert with a dusting of snow.

  10. It is good to hear the song (we are the world) again. I know for sure that the world keeps what it is doing – changing.

  11. Proving our world views jive, Ann, my post tomorrow features a link to my friends Donna Colton and Sam Patterelli’s original song “Ready for the World Wide.” Because you are getting a blizzard, you get a sneak preview tonight.

    http://blog.syracuse.com/entertainment/2012/06/heres_the_video_for_donna_colt.html

    • I like being the first person in the wide world to get that view of your post tomorrow, Mark. I appreciated listening to your friends and seeing your words there and here.

      • That’s a story I wrote for the paper in 2012. I’m linking to that in my post tomorrow, which is about Donna. But I gave you the link today, Ann, because I wanted to.

  12. Everthing I need to know about the world can be summed up in one statement:

    Though I am ignorant, I can grow in understanding as long as I believe in all that is good and just.

    Here’s a song, Michael McDonald’s, ‘I Gotta Try’

  13. Pingback: Day 757: Serenely blizzarding | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  14. Louis Armstrong is hard to beat! Eric Clapton’s as well. I’ll add ‘Waiting on the World to Change’ by John Mayer and ‘One Sweet World’ by Dave Matthews Band, just for fun.
    Great post!! 🙂

  15. The Mad World video is pretty amazing.

  16. I love National Ann Day! And I love the Louis Armstrong clip. I also love your blog – very different and very entertaining.

  17. Perhaps he meant that you are all he needs to know of the world 😉

  18. Pingback: Day 1086: Hard to read | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

