Day 755: Binge Watching

If you’ve been binge watching this blog, you know that I like to define my terms.

binge-watch
[binj-woch]

verb (used with object)
1. to watch (multiple videos, episodes of a TV show, etc.) in one sitting or over a short period of time:
“We binge-watched two seasons of the show in two days.”

verb (used without object)
2. to engage in this activity.

Also, bingewatch, binge watch.

My 16-going-on-17-year-old son, Aaron, and I have been engaging in the activity of binge-watching this TV show:

House_of_Cards_title_card

… and we finished watching Season 2 of the American version of House of Cards last night.

Here’s one result of binge watching a series about compelling, manipulative, and smart schemers:

When I’m doing or saying something for my own self-interest, it’s difficult NOT to feel evil.

Aaron and I agree about that side effect of binge-watching House of Cards.

My boyfriend Michael — who has seen the original, UK version of House of Cards — plans to bingewatch the American House of Cards when Aaron and I are away, binge-watching all things California, next month.

Other things I’ve been binge watching lately include …

IMG_4843 IMG_4844IMG_4845 IMG_4846 IMG_4847 IMG_4848IMG_4849IMG_4852

… the current season of American Idol (thanks to the recommendation of binge-watched and binge-watching blogger, Mark Bialczak) and …

IMG_4842IMG_4866

IMG_4867

… snow.

As you may have noticed, Oscar the cat likes to binge-watch me (among other things):

IMG_4859IMG_4861 IMG_4865

This week, I shall be binge-watching — and also be binge-watched by — doctors, nurses, and other health professionals a) where I work and b) at two other Boston-area hospitals, for lots more cardiac tests.

What do you think would be a good binge-listening accompaniment for this binge-watching post?

I’ve already used the theme music  from House of Cards in this here recent post, so how about this?

(Live version of “Watching the Detectives” by Elvis Costello available for binge-watching here on YouTube.)

Many thanks to dictionary.com, Aaron, Kevin Spacey, Robin Wright, all the other talented people responsible for the fabulous binge-watching experience that is House of Cards,, Michael, binge-watching cat Oscar, my friend Carol (appearing in yesterday’s post and with Oscar, above), Mark Bialczak, American Idol, Elvis Costello, and YOU, for binge-watching or otherwise watching this blog.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 36 Comments

Post navigation

36 thoughts on “Day 755: Binge Watching

  1. House of Cards is my next binge-watch. Now I am with my dark side as I binge-watch Breaking Bad. I am an addicted binge-watcher!

    • I binge-watched Breaking Bad last year, so I could watch the final episode with Aaron and Michael, and it seemed to break my heart. That is, I ended up in the hospital the next day with atrial fibrillation, which I’ve been dealing with ever since. Love that show, though. Thanks for binge-watching here, Emilie!

  2. You are probably fed up with snow by now, but your photo of the garden and trees gave me great pleasure.

  3. Ann, I am one of those weirdos who don’t binge watch anything. It’s hard enough for me to sit through a movie, never mind back to back to back episodes of anything!

    Along with you, I am excited about the approaching spring and subsequent summer! ❤
    Diana xo

    • I never noticed you were a weirdo, Diana, even though I binge-watch you and you binge-watch me. Yay for approaching better weather!!!

  4. Beautiful snowy photos! Unfortunately, snow is just too darned cold. But if you’re forced to stay indoors because of it, I can only say that there’s nothing wrong with a good bit of binge-watching (or listening) now and then. I’m glad your wonderful medical staff are binge-watching you!

  5. I binge watched Penny Dreadful……oh my goodness.

    • Was it dreadful? I’m so glad you watched and commented here today.

      • It is interesting. It takes the premise of the yellow backed, penny dreadful novels – the stories of horror, madness, fear…and brings it to life. We meet Dr. Frankenstein, Dorian Gray, vampires, vampire hunters…..it can be a bit gorey and visually uncomfortable at times, but under all the inhuman stuff is the theme of what it means to be human. Frankenstein’s monster comes to London insearch of his creator and because of his scarred visage, is set upon by a group of thugs and beaten and left in an alley. He says in one night, he learned about the cruelty of the human race, but in the same night, he learned about their qualities of mercy. A drunken actor stumbles on him and helps him up, takes him to an inn for a meal and a drink and takes him at the theatre where he acts. The monster becomes part of the acting and technical family. He finds a place among non-judegemental and accepting humans. It really made a good point.

      • Sounds very interesting! Thanks for writing about it here.

  6. My last binge watch was Outlander! I too get attached to American Idol …. from the next round onwards 🙂
    It feels good to tell world that I am a binge watcher!

  7. I binge-watched whole seasons of “Bones” from FOX when I first discovered I’d missed it, Ann. On Demand DVR from cable filled me in quite nicely, thank you.

    Your testing this week will be helped by your binging, I’m sure. And the oncoming California onslaught with Aaron at the end of the tunnel will help, too, I’m sure.

  8. Beth Campbell

    My most recent binge watch was Criminal Minds – nine whole seasons worth. Much more time consuming than my previous binge watches: The Good Wife and The Affair. I’m really looking forward, as I assume are you, to Season 3 of House of Cards. Until then, enjoy your California adventure.

    • I am definitely looking forward to Season 3 of House of Cards and our California adventure. It’s always great to see you here!

  9. I have mini binge watches of different shows but that is the way I like it

  10. Janet H

    I recommend binge-watching (if you haven’t seen them) Moone Boy (PBS) & Galavant (ABC). I don’t recommend it for Black Mirror (Netflix). One episode at a time is grim enough!

    • Hi, Janet! I caught a little bit of Galavant and liked what I saw. I trust your binge-watching recommendations, so I shall check these out.

  11. I thought “binge-watching” is to watch things over and over again and again. I think I fit into this category yesterday watching two movies in one day.

  12. I binge watch House of Cards too. And Orange is the New Black, and Shameless, oh I could go on and on…. love the photo with sun and the snow, so pretty. Stay safe in the upcoming storm, we are waiting for its arrival tomorrow.

  13. I just binge watched the two seasons of HBOs Rome in two days! I LOVE cramming in episode after episode, breaking only to go to the bathroom or get sonething to eat. Hope you had fun!

  14. My wife and i binge watched ’24’ once. We watched season 1 in one sitting. Then, we could not watch any season afyer that. My son and i do a 12 hour marathon of “The Lord Of The Rings” every year…

  15. Pingback: Day 756: Everything you need to know about the world | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  16. I binge watch when two good movies are on at the same time.

    Here’s a mellow and relaxing song by Sinatra. I used to know these songs because my parents played them, I was too young (and getting YOUNGER now): Someone to Watch Over me (when I hear Sinatra’s voice my who body shivers)

  17. I meant: “when I hear Sinatra’s voice my whole body shivers”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

