Day 751: Bitching

Two days ago, I received this email from my dear friend Barbara (most recently appearing in this here post):

Sounds like it might be time to return the bitching bongos to you.  They’ve gotten me through some frustrations… I could bring them by on my way home mid-afternoon, if Michael is going to be home.

So, this is what I found after I got home from work last night:

IMG_4801

Now I can start bitching again, with some healing music.

Here’s what I’d like to bitch about, right now:

  • For the second time in my life, I need to have my least favorite cardiac test ever, on Friday (in two days).
  • My favorite cardiologist in the whole world, Dr. Deeb Salem, asked me to come in an HOUR EARLIER than our scheduled appointment today, so I’m wondering what the *&#@!!$% THAT means.
  • Yesterday, at work, we got news that somebody had shot and wounded a cardiac surgeon in a hospital very close to where I work.
  • Just now, I checked the news to find out that this doctor, probably so similar to doctors I’ve worked with my entire life, has died.

I don’t even know how to make sense of all these things right now, my dear readers.

Feel free to bitch about anything you choose, in the comments below.

I leave this post silent, in respect for the loss of life.

Thanks to Barbara and all those I love. And thanks to you for your visit here today.

Categories: Uncategorized | 46 Comments

Post navigation

46 thoughts on “Day 751: Bitching

  1. Best wishes on enduring the test. I hope whatever the outcome, it is one you can live with, literally and figuratively.

    As for the murder, there is no sense to it, and one will never be found. The only thing one hopes is the murderer is caught — none of this kill then commit suicide or die in a shootout with police crap! — and is put away for the rest of his nasty existence.

    All life is precious, yet there is something especially vile about taking the life of someone who’s dedicated his or her life to helping others live.

  2. I click like as a show of support Ann. An hour earlier? they probably had a cancelation and are moving all appointments up. My strength, warm thoughts and prayers are with you for your least favourite test. HUGS to you! ❤
    Diana xo

  3. I worry about ‘liking’ a post like this because like is not what I mean — it’s really more a ‘I hear you and I stand beside you’, kind of button I’m looking for — and then, I just looked up and saw Diana’s comment!

    Much love to you Ann — and I am so saddened to hear about the cardiologist who lost his life through such senseless violence. It is so very, very sad, and troubling.

    I pray you have peace of mind and are of gentle heart as you go into this next round of investigations.

    Love and hugs.

    • Don’t worry about anything you do here, Louise. Your love and empathy always help my mind feel more peace and my heart feel more gentle.

  4. we’re here with you

  5. I think you’d be justified in bitching about the things on that list, Ann. News of any murder or death is hard to swallow, for a start. And the mess up with your appointment would have been so frustrating and worrying, all in one.
    Having said that, I have just nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award. I cant see anywhere thet you don’t accept awards, but if you don’t, pleases accept humble apologies. Similarly, if you just don’t have time to do it. If you do decide to do the award, the rules are on my last blog post.
    Keep tour chin up.

    • Thank you for the nomination, Millie. It is a bitchin’ big honor, coming from you. I say on my About page that I don’t do the award thang, but your recognizing me in this way helps me keep my chin up!

      • Sorry, Ann, I don’t know how I missed that one. I know many bloggers do opt out of awards, and I did try to look out for the notices. It takes a while going through people’s blogs, so perhaps I just didn’t look hard enough! I do think your blog is ace and doesn’t need awards to recognise that. Look after yourself, and Penny.

      • No need to apologize, Millie. It is very easy to miss! (You don’t miss much, I think.)

  6. Your nasty test will be over with soon. Then you can move on to the next step in this process.
    I do not understand killing and then committing suicide. You want to die? I can respect the choice. But leave others alone! So sorry that horror is so close to you.

  7. I have a bongo that takes a beating. Helps. My prayers and warm wishes are with you, Ann.

  8. perhaps playing some healing beats
    while testing will improve results
    along with supportive friends’ love
    and fresh juice 🙂

  9. My “like” supports you, bongo away, as my issues in the scheme of things are not so important, but I like latin rhythms. Salsa, samba, etc. Okay! I dont inderstand the anger in the world either? I decided 2015, is going to be my year, for positivness! I accept, the square foot, I am standing in, and can only change my attitude and thoughts! I pray all is well for you, I look forward to your blog every day!
    NIBSIH 😘

  10. I only want to add my sorrow regarding and condolences for the senseless and loss of life in your world and neighborhood, Ann.

  11. I hope all goes well for you

  12. Life can be a bitch. Get those bitching bongos going Ann and release some bitching energy!!
    Hugs to you my friend.
    xo

  13. Hello – I used to be an echo tech. I know it’s a horrible test. The most important thing is to tell the doctor to let the medicine work BEFORE they start the test. I used to watch doctors give the meds (the good ones that make you relax and forget;-) and immediately give the test – horrible! If they give you the meds and then wait at least 5 minutes until you are nice and “out”, the test is so much better, I promise. Also, they can tell if you need more medicine. (I participated in many of these). I know it is horrible, but this can make it much less horrible for you! I also heard about the doctor that was murdered – it made my heart hurt. Good luck with the test! Lisa

  14. Good luck at your appointment. It sounds like you have every reason to bitch. And I love your attitude about it.

    Blessings to those who are hurting and suffering today. What tragedy. We lost a heart doctor here last year, who returned to his home country to volunteer and serve his people. Due to “religious wars” he was killed trying to help others. Horrible.

  15. Ann, i wish you the best, and I’m sorry the shooting had to be so close to you. Be well.

  16. You have a brigade of supporters. We can’t be there in person, but we will be there in spirit and in thought. Arriving early and feeling concerned? Normal, especially under the circumstances.
    The murder and the suicide? Heartbreaking. Having you get better? Awesome!❤️

  17. Hi Ann, I heard that terrible news story on the radio close to the time that it happened and immediately thought of you and your wonderful team of cardiologists in Boston. What a sad, tragic, incomprehensible thing.

    I’ll be thinking of you on Friday and sending whatever calm, peace & energy I can, telepathically.

    • Knowing you’re out there helps me with my bitchin’ life, more than you know. Between the shooting and the time they released the details, I was terrified the cardiologist was Dr. Landzberg, since he splits his time between Children’s Hospital and the Brigham. Yes, as you say: sad, tragic, and incomprehensible. Thanks goodness for the calm, peace, and energy you bring.

  18. Best of luck for your appointment.

    The doctor’s incident sounds really really bad and depressing. The world is becoming a cruel place. 😦

  19. Ann,
    Whenever I believe I have reason to complain(bitch), I go to one who knows me best. He needs no explanation, because He has already endured it for me on a cross, and by it has brought me relief and renewed my confidence.

    -Alan

  20. I’ve hit the ‘like’ button, but you will know what I mean.

  21. Pingback: Day 1580: Bitch, Bitch, Bitch | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

