Day 748: A Salt and Battery

I love puns.  My boyfriend Michael says he strongly dislikes puns, but here’s the truth about Michael:

When Michael makes a pun,  he insists it’s not a pun.

When the rest of the world makes a pun, Michael acts like that’s assault and battery.

Yesterday, Michael and I probably made some puns, but I can’t remember any of them right now, no matter how much I assault and batter my brain trying to remember.

BTBW, here are some random thoughts battering around in my mind about what I’ve written so far:

  • When I was a little kid having surgeries in the hospital, those felt like assault and battery.
  • I am anticipating having heart surgery in the future, but everybody assures me that will NOT feel like assault and battery.
  • Since I’ve been 10 years old, I’ve relied on the batteries in pacemakers to stay alive.
  • I can get nervous/anxious/jumpy/whatever-we-want-to-call-it when regular batteries run down (as they always do), because of the way my mind makes associations.
  • The way my mind makes associations probably helps me make puns AND helps me write the kind of posts I’ve been writing here, every day for the last 747 days.
  • 747 is also a kind of airplane.

download (39)

(Image of 747 found here)

  • I plan to fly out on an airplane to California, with my 16-year-old son, next month.
  • The plane reservations aren’t made yet, which can make me nervous/anxious/jumpy/whatever-we-want-to-call-it, but I have faith that my travel agent/niece Laura will take care of this beautifully, because she always does (including the trips I wrote about here, here, here, and here).
  • When I had to replace some batteries yesterday, my mind/brain/whatever-we-want-to-call-it came up with the title for today’s post.

IMG_4647

  • I hope it won’t be photographic assault and battery, now, if I share all the other shots I took yesterday:

IMG_4645 IMG_4646 IMG_4648 IMG_4649 IMG_4650 IMG_4651 IMG_4652 IMG_4653 IMG_4654 IMG_4655

I don’t want to batter you into leaving me a comment about this post, but it would feel like the opposite of assault-and-battery to me, if you commented in any way.

Now, I have to salt-and-batter my brain to come up with a good-enough song to end this post.

I don’t mean to procrastinate, but what would YOU choose as a song for this Salt-and-Battery post?

Okay, here are my associations, leading to the Song Du Jour:

  • “Batter, batter, batter” is something Cameron and Ferris say in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off at Chicago’s Wrigley Field, skipping school for a Cubs baseball game.

That YouTube video of that scene doesn’t have great sound (even though it has over 272,000 views). Here’s another YouTube video of “batter, batter, batter” that has better sound (but far fewer views):

Gotta go Twist and Shout on my brand new, pink elliptical!

Thanks to Michael the Boyfriend (who, like Ferris, could be a Fry Cook on Venus), Laura the Niece/Travel Agent, Harley the Cat, Penny the Pen, Ferris and Cameron,  John Hughes the Late Screenwriter and Director,  LateBloomer777 the YouTube Batter-er,  The Beatles the Group, and You the Reader — of course! — for visiting me, today.

Categories: gratitude, personal growth | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 41 Comments

Post navigation

41 thoughts on “Day 748: A Salt and Battery

  1. I didn’t watch the vids (off to bed now) but you always give me a GRIN! Thank you Ann

  2. 😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻😻

  3. My hubby’s constant punning drives me crazy! Thankfully your post just made me smile! 🙂

  4. I love this!
    I also love a salt and battery fish and chips.
    xo

  5. Free association, as you suggested, Ann. My biggest battery is in my car. I love music by The Cars.
    I adore your unusual heart.

    • Hello, adoring and adorable Mark. Thanks for the free/extremely valuable associations, which sound great to me, in mono or stereo.

      My favorite Car(s)-tune.

  6. I wonder why Michael dislikes puns..? Thanks for this post and all your lovely photos Ann. ❤
    Diana xo

  7. Ferrissssssssss!

  8. My cousin is a master pun-maker. Her learned from the best: my father, and his father who learned to pun to defend himself from my father.
    My cousin can make a pun on anything at any time. His puns do not batter me, so that feels fine,
    Salt and batter – first thing I thought of was to add salt to the pancake batter! See how my mind works?

    • I love how your mind works, Emilie. I’m thinking I’d love the minds of your cousin, your cousin’s father, and your father. A salted pancake sounds great, too.

  9. My kids will die if I tell them we found each other, they are always cringing at my puns. By the way, your salt seller looks as if it was a-salted and battered by the dents in the lid. 😉

  10. I though of Ella Fitzgerald, and “scat it all the way”:

    Here’s Ella Fitzgerald scat singing em Samba de uma nota só”

    • I meant to say “thought”

      • Maria! I love Ella Fitzgerald, scat singing, and this comment.

        I mix up “thought’ and “though” when I write, too. Here’s another coincidence: I used that same clip in a post I wrote a few months ago, Day 667: Norms.

        Synchronicity and coincidences truly are norms around here!

      • Wow Ann, talk about synchronicity and coincidences! I wouldn’t have imagined!

  11. Your battery and battered thoughts made me hoot and I enjoyed the reminder about Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. Great photos again, too.

  12. I have a few batteries in my belfry too. Great post Ann!

  13. Loved the Twist and Shout scene!

  14. I love your puns! I always notice I am smiling as I read your posts, thanks again 🙂

  15. Pingback: Day 749: Brave enough | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  16. This is so funny. I have another blogger whom I recently had a whole pun exchange when she was in the hospital having her battery changed. Her name is Sandra Callahan and here’s a link to her blog: http://thedrsays.org/about/

    I might have overstepped my bounds with a pun about her being terminal with congestive heart failure. But she definitely told me that humor is the best medicine and took it well. Here is a condensed version of our pun exchange.

    Me: You’re in the ER for a battery problem. I’m thinking: “Who’s in charge? When will they discharge you? Do you want to charge out of there? Will they charge you a lot for this?
    Her: Those are hilarious!
    Me: Now you’ve got me started. While you’re waiting you can stay on top of “current” events. Don’t let anything shock you! Ok – maybe these puns are re”volting!”
    Her: Laughing like a crazy person!!! Love, love, love the clever puns!!
    Me: Okay – I’ve got more coming. You might want to “plug” your ears, because it’s hard for me to “switch” gears! (Oy, that even rhymed!) And I guess since one of your friends thought you were in jail – it could be for assault and “battery!” Then they’d put you in a Dura”cell!”
    Her: I started just cracking up about these puns. The nurse came by my room, looking concerned a couple of times. Guess not many people in CCD are having fun:)
    Me: If I could add some laughter – I LOVE IT! I am “Ever-Ready” to keep up these puns. Last one. What do you have in common with a battery? They both have “terminal” conditions. (Okay – that one was really bad).
    Her: Ahahahaha that was great!!!! You are “shocking!”
    Me: I thought I went too far with the “terminal” pun! Hey, I like your pun of shocking!!! You’re definitely getting the hang of this now. It’s such a great “outlet!” Well now that I’ve made a pun about the hospital being a prison like a Dura”cell,” then here comes another bad one. You definitely wouldn’t want to get “arrested.”

    • I thought I left a reply for this the day you commented here, Judy. Somehow, there was a WordPress assault and battery on that attempt! Many thanks for commenting and for connecting me with Sandra Callahan’s blog. Love your puns!

  17. Wonderful. I had forgotten the power of Twist and Shout. I am happy to be assaulted and battered by this.

  18. Just wanted to leave you a comment so you know someone out there is listening, Good luck on your trip and God bless you today.

  19. Pingback: Day 754: Réparation | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  20. Pingback: Day 1183: The positive and the negative | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  21. Pingback: Day 1317: Salt and Battery | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  22. Pingback: Day 1420: As beautiful as the universe | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

