Day 742: Letting My Freak Flag Fly

Okay, my freaking fabulous followers, I woke up this morning with this “freak” phrase in my freakish brain:

Letting my freak flag fly

… which — unless my memory is totally freaking out — is from a song.

At freaking first, I thought those words were from

Hairposter.

(I found that freakin’ image of the musical “Hair” here on Wikipedia, along with a lot of freakin’ words.)

However, I don’t think it was the freaks from that freakingly innovative 60’s musical who sang those words I woke up with.

I believe, in my freaky heart, that those lyrics are sung by  Familiar Freak David Crosby.

Hold on.  I’ll freaking check.

I was freaking right!

(David Crosby, Stephen Stills, and  Graham Nash — known collectively as the freakishly harmonic Crosby, Still, & Nash — are freaking out here on YouTube with “I Almost Cut My Hair” at Madison Square Garden in 2009.)

Now, it’s not a freak accident when I wake up with lyrics in my head, which happens freakin’ frequently. I believe there are reasons for freakin’ everythin’, so I’m going to look more carefully at those freak-flag lyrics:

Almost Cut My Hair

I almost cut my hair
It happened just the other day
It was gettin’ kinda long
I could-a said, it was in my way
But I didn’t and I wonder why
I feel like letting my freak flag fly
And I feel like I owe it to someone

Must be because I had the flu for Christmas
And I’m not feelin’ up to par
It increases my paranoia
Like lookin’ at my mirror and seein’ a police car

But I’m not givin’ in an inch to fear
’cause I promised myself this year
I feel like I owe it to someone

When I finally get myself together
I’m gonna get down in some sunny southern weather
Find a place inside to laugh
Separate the wheat from the chaff
I feel like I owe it to someone

Here are my freaking associations with those words, in the freakin’ moment:

  • I didn’t ALMOST cut my hair just the other day. I freaking DID get it cut, two days ago, by the freakishly talented haircutter and human being, Mia.
  • To me, “letting my freak flag fly” means showing pride in one’s unique individuality — freakish differences and all. What does freakin’ you think about that?
  • I didn’t have the flu for Christmas, but I wasn’t feeling myself during the holiday season — because of some heart health fears and uncertainties I had then.
  • “I’m not givin’ in an inch to fear.”  Isn’t that freaking GREAT?!?!
  • I did “finally get myself together” last Wednesday, because of a freakin’ terrific meeting my son and I had with a new cardiologist.
  • “I’m gonna get down in some sunny weather.”  Because the winters are so freakin’ cold and harsh here in the Northeastern part of the USA, I always try to get down in some sunny weather, if possible. This year, with all the medical uncertainties, I wasn’t sure I’d be able to get away.  Yesterday, I committed to a trip, in Freakin’ February,  to sunny

california.

  • Isn’t that freaking fantastic?
  • Finally, how about that recurring line in the song — “I feel like I owe it to someone”?  What is “it,” to me?  “It” is everything and anything, including being authentic.  And who is the “someone” I owe that to?   It’s the freak who is writing this post, people!

Here are some freakin’ fotos I took yesterday and today, letting my freak flag fly:

IMG_4526 IMG_4524 IMG_4528 IMG_4529 IMG_4530 IMG_4533 IMG_4536 IMG_4535

It’s freakin’ time for Freak Ann to go to work, fellow freaks!

Thanks to David Crosby, Stephen Stills, Graham Nash, and all the wonderful freaks who helped me create this post and who are reading it now (including you, of course!).

Categories: inspiration, personal growth, pride | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 46 Comments

Post navigation

46 thoughts on “Day 742: Letting My Freak Flag Fly

  1. My hair is gettin’ kinda long, and sometimes it’s in my way. So far I’ve resisted the occasional urge to lop it off.
    Thanks for the music and lyrics. Think I’d better print it out and tape it on my bathroom mirror!
    Here in Florida where I came for sunny weather, it’s gray and expected to rain my last few days while I visit the Keys.

    • Sorry the weather isn’t freaking flying better your way, Emilie. You are very welcome for the music and lyrics, and I’m glad your letting your freak flag fly.

  2. Freakin Fabulous!!! Have a great day and thanks for the reminder of that song- haven’t freakin thought of it since 1976 😀

  3. I always read that song as being satirical, sort of making fun of would be counter culture folk. It is fun to read your take – very different. Thanks for the follow!

  4. one of my all-time favorite songs!

  5. I want to see a photo of the feakin’ awesome haircut! 🙂

    Wishign you a freakin’ amazing Monday!

  6. A freakingly hilarious post. The play on that word is excellent. The song and the photos are freakin’ good too.

  7. A freakin DUNKING SPOON?? LOL!! 😀

  8. I loved this post and the freaking fotos rocked!

  9. freakin far out!! Great work.

  10. Sunshine Jansen

    You are gonna have a freakin’ fabulous time in sunny California! ^_^

  11. I expect Penny has stopped freaking out out about being used to retrieve the cookies!
    Freaking funny 🙂

    • Penny seems to have recovered from her freaking adventures at the supermarket. Thanks for another freakishly fabulous visit, Val!

  12. would have to double check but I think Jimi Hendrix used almost the exact phrase a few years before…. good to see this

  13. I haven’t cut my hair in this century and don’t intend to. Maybe in the 22nd. Freak flags for the win! 😀

    FWIW, Hendrix recorded “I’m gonna wave my freak flag high” in the song If 6 Was 9 on the 1967 Axis Bold As Love album.

  14. Now you really have something to freakin’ look forward to, Ann! California in February. Jealous man. (That’s another song.)

    I must pitch in that it’s not freaking dunkin’ if you don’t get at least two fingers wet.

  15. All this reminds me that I’m also a child of the 60’s (what was that called, a ‘flower child’?), so I enjoyed not combing my hair, and all the freaking goodness that came with it.

  16. OK. Award for Post title of the Month. Right here.

  17. Pingback: Day 743: Be nice to me | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  18. Himalayan pink popcorn? Now I’ve seen everything!

  19. Hope you gets lots of lovely sunshine when you go to California.

  20. Tht was a freakin’ fun read 😉

  21. Author Annie Mitchell

    I do this too lyrics come into my head everyday without effort

    • Thank you for commenting, Author Annie. I apologize for my freaking lateness responding to this. I didn’t freakin’ see it until today!

  22. I just got my hair cut. It was getting too freaking long. You definitely ‘owe’ yourself a trip to sunny California. Wish I could go with you. Carol

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

