Day 726: Weird

Isn’t it weird that on my 726th consecutive day of blogging, WordPress is telling me that I have 2012 followers OR 1651 followers, depending where I look?

Isn’t it weird that I am wondering if I should do a special blog post when my number of followers matches the number of the year we’re in, ESPECIALLY since (1) I don’t know which number of followers is true, real, or authentic and (2) the number of the year is about to change?

Isn’t it weird that months ago (when I had far fewer followers) I started the draft of a post titled “PTSD” that included all of these:

Possibly Terribly Serious Diagnosis

Post That Seems Depressing

Post That Starts Depressingly

Pets That Startle Dispproportionally

People That Seem Disdainful

Past Terrifyingly Sucky Doctors

Possibly Terrifying Sleep Deprivation

… and I haven’t published it yet?

Isn’t it weird that I decided to go to work, yesterday, on the day after Christmas,  even though I work at a large Boston hospital, and hospitals are notoriously empty of staff during the holiday season (as evidenced by this photo I snapped on my way to the cafeteria during lunchtime yesterday)? IMG_4187

Isn’t it weird that I made the choice, before work yesterday, to go to cardiac rehab (for reasons relating to my unusual heart),  on the day after Christmas?

Isn’t it weird that Carla and Kathy at cardiac rehabIMG_4173

decided to go into work yesterday even though it was the day after Christmas and their co-worker Danise had made the choice to stay home with her family? Isn’t it especially weird that they look so happy, even though I told them that the title of today’s post was going to be “Weird”?

Isn’t it weird that Carla wrote things on my work-out reminder

IMG_4175

that have previously appeared in this blog here and here? And isn’t it weird that I took four shots of that card yesterday, and had trouble deciding which photo to use?

Isn’t it weird that Kathy made this face yesterday

IMG_4178

when she was describing how sad and empathic she was about the FEELINGS of Christmas trees, after seeing a bunch of unsold ones earlier that morning, on the day after Christmas?

Isn’t it weird that I took all these other photos on the day after Christmas, even before I made it to cardiac rehab in the morning?

IMG_4163 IMG_4164 IMG_4165 IMG_4166 IMG_4167 IMG_4168 IMG_4169 IMG_4170IMG_4172

Isn’t it weird that I am now choosing to show you the very first photo I took yesterday morning — after showing you all those other ones — even though this photo is the only one that directly relates to yesterday’s post?

IMG_4162

Isn’t it weird that I never explained this photo from yesterday’s post?

IMG_4159

Isn’t it weird that I heard the studio version of the Pat Metheny Group‘s “The Way Up — Part 3” as I walked by this on my way to work, after cardiac rehab?IMG_4184

(weird, live version of “The Way Up — Part 3”  found here on YouTube)

Isn’t it weird that I didn’t tell you about my hearing “The Way Up — Part 3” at the beginning of this post, so you could have started listening to it way before now?

Isn’t it weird that I’m now remembering how when The Way Up came out, a decade ago, I found out, at the last minute, that the Pat Metheny Group was touring and playing that whole wonderful album, and I was upset that I had missed the performance in Boston, but my then-manager, named Michael, pointed out that I could still see the concert if I drove to Connecticut that night, and I found a ticket for the concert and a place to stay, left work early and drove there by myself, and it’s still one of my best memories of a concert, ever?

Isn’t it weird that I just remembered all that, especially since Carla and Kathy were talking at cardiac rehab yesterday morning about how they don’t mind going to movies or to the beach by themselves, even though other people in their lives think that’s weird?

Isn’t it weird that I took all these other photos yesterday?

IMG_4192 IMG_4194 IMG_4197 IMG_4199 IMG_4201 IMG_4202 IMG_4203 IMG_4204 IMG_4207 IMG_4208 IMG_4210 IMG_4211 IMG_4212 IMG_4213 IMG_4214

Isn’t it weird that I’m crying a little, as I’m writing this part of the post, especially since I’m about to show you this great photo I took at Whole Foods Market last night, when I was feeling happy with my boyfriend Michael?

IMG_4216

Brenda, our cashier at Whole Foods last night, told us about her Mr. Spock button and her experiences  meeting most of the cast members of Star Trek: The Original Series (which I love and have written about here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, and here).

Maybe it’s not so weird that I was crying a little there, since:

  • writing this post has brought up all sorts of different memories for me,
  • listening to music I love moves me in many different ways,
  •  Kathy’s sadness about all those lonely Christmas trees may have affected me,
  • there was some very sad news yesterday, at work, about somebody losing a child,
  • and there are photos of lots of kind people in this post and — as I wrote about in 2013 — Kindness Can Make Me Cry, Even Harder.

Isn’t it weird that I haven’t included any photos of any of our cats, yet?

IMG_4217

Isn’t it weird that Harley, who is usually so shy, is sitting on the sofa with me while I’m writing this?  And isn’t it weird that there’s a calculator there, even though I didn’t need it to write this post?

What do you find weird about this post?  And what does the word “weird” mean to you?

Many weird thanks to all the weird people everywhere who helped me write this post today and to all those who are reading it — weirdly or non-weirdly — including YOU.

Categories: inspiration, Nostalgia, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , | 51 Comments

Post navigation

51 thoughts on “Day 726: Weird

  1. Thank you for sharing the weird, Ann.

  2. I love the word and I love being weird too!

  3. feverdreams

    What I would really love (and what would be really weird) would be if I could be the 2014th person following your blog. And then you can do a special post. So far, I really love your blog. It made me cry a little bit too. Can’t wait to read more.

    • You are. I’m not kidding. Isn’t that weird? I don’t know if I’m going to do a special post, but you certainly wrote a special comment. Welcome and many thanks.

      • feverdreams

        Yippee! And thank you. Many thanks also for the follow.

  4. I love this post and it’s range of emotions! I love your enthusiasm for life and your skill at noticing small details that others might often miss!

    Growing up in a very small, extremely conservative town, I used to think I was weird because my core thoughts and beliefs were so different from the vast majority of my peers. However, once I went off to college, I found other people who thought like me and didn’t feel so weird anymore! 🙂

    • I love this comment and its weirdly wonderful range of appreciation and feeling. I’m so glad you found people and places that helped you feel less weird. I can relate!

  5. it is pretty weird

  6. Weird can be noted as the label one applies when not taking the time to appreciate all the randomness the world has to offer. It reminds me of a line from a Steve Forbert song, “It’s often said that life is strange, oh yeah, but compared to what?” Happy Saturday

  7. Its all driew to me too!

  8. That hose or connector thing that you never explained scared the heck out of me when you first posted it and I don’t have a better feeling about it now. Isn’t that weird? Maybe it’s time for me to adopt another cat.

  9. I love all these ‘weird’ 🙂 …

  10. Weird post, Ann. But as usual, I loved it.

  11. And isn’t it weird that I am so late in reading and posting? The beach sorta does that to me.

  12. I’m propped up in bed in this (for some reason) unheated room trying to write a chapter set in the summer, and I’m thinking that that 100 watt reptile-warming lamp that you put in your photo line-up, is just the thing I need.

  13. Janet H

    What, no Weird Al, whom we both love in a weird way? The weirdest of his songs, which I adore to a weird degree, is Albuquerque. What’s your favorite?

    • Hello, my weird friend! Yes, Aaron and I have weirdly loved Weird Al for many years, and have seen him and his weirdly fabulous band in person, several times. My Weird Al favorites (and there’s a weird lot of them) include “Hardware Store,” “A Genius in France,” “eBay,” “That’s Your Horoscope For Today,” and definitely “Albuquerque.” Let’s see what I can find on YouTube.

      When Aaron was younger, we watched Weird Al videos created by Gallomallet a weird number of times.

  14. I believe one may include your Facebook friends and the others doesn’t. Check and see if this is true.

  15. I think it’s weird all these people let you take and then post their pictures.

  16. Weird and wonderful!

  17. Life is weird. That’s what I tell my dogs. Isn’t it weird that they seem to hang on every word we say? 🙂

  18. I think WordPress is weird and getting weirder, Ann. I think WordPress needs to borrow that calculator you didn’t need when you were writing this post.

  19. Pingback: Day 727: Guess what I did | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  20. I’ve always found WordPress’ numbers weird. There are days when I have 58 likes but only 43 views. How is that possible? My number of followers also varies from 930 to 789. I think sometimes they count all the Facebook followers and other times they don’t. I also have lots of followers in Australia, New Zealand and Africa and when they comment or like a post they don’t show up on the map. Isn’t that weird?

  21. Pingback: Day 730: Honestly | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  22. I love the peacefulness of the photo of Aaron’s folded card ‘fractal’, and I want a Repti basking spot lamp – but Iight have to wait until next Christmas.

  23. Pingback: Day 749: Brave enough | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  24. Pingback: Day 770: Am I blue? | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

