Day 699: True detective

My son and I started watching the HBO series True Detective this weekend.

LjGKxgQP

(The truth is I detected that image of True Detective many places on the internet).

It’s true you would have detected this on my Facebook page last night:

The best TV show ever? I’m thinking maybe yes, after watching two episodes.Thanks for the push, Jonathan.

You don’t have to be a detective to find out who Jonathan is.  He’s my ex-business partner.

Together, for many years, Jonathan and I detected as much truth as we could, in the murky, confusing, and (let’s face it) profit-driven universe of marketing and advertising.

That’s how I would begin telling the story of Jonathan and Ann in the World of Advertising and Marketing.  The truth is that I don’t know what words Jonathan might use, detecting the truth of that experience.

That reminds me of the narrative structure of True Detective, where the two detectives involved in a case tell the story very differently.

Where is the truth in  any situation, when all involved tell the stories somewhat differently?  How do you detect the truth in all of that?

In my own way, I’ve tried to be a true detective throughout my life. Here are some truths I’m detecting right now:

  • It’s raining outside.
  • I’m going back to work tomorrow — detecting truths, as best I can, as a group and individual psychotherapist in the outpatient clinic of a major Boston teaching hospital —  after a four-day Thanksgiving vacation.
  • Like one of the detectives in True DetectiveI often take my pulse by feeling the artery in my neck.
  • I wonder what it all means sometimes (like some characters on True Detective).
  • I don’t like spoilers, so I just turned away from the internet when looking for different True Detective links for this post.
  • I don’t know what the truth is about my health.
  •  I’ll be seeing four medical detectives in December (who might narrate my story differently).
  • December starts tomorrow.

I detected some photographic truths yesterday and before I present the evidence, here’s the theme music from True Detective (found here on YouTube):

My images, from yesterday:

IMG_2603 IMG_2604 IMG_2605 IMG_2606 IMG_2607 IMG_2610 IMG_2611 IMG_2612 IMG_2616 IMG_2618 IMG_2619 IMG_2620 IMG_2622 IMG_2623 IMG_2625 IMG_2628 IMG_2629 IMG_2630 IMG_2632 IMG_2633 IMG_2634 IMG_2637 IMG_2638 IMG_2641 IMG_2643 IMG_2644 IMG_2645

What true story would you detect and create, out of those?

Thanks to everybody who truly helps me detect and create my my own story, every day, and to those reading my story here (including you, detecting your own truths on the way).

Categories: blogging, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 35 Comments

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “Day 699: True detective

  1. Somebody in your life is chef-ing a lot of food, Ann.

  2. Loved this, Ann. We loved “True Detective” too. Bleak and raw but very well done. We’re in the same line of work, it seems. Cool. Looks like a trip to the restaurant supply store. I’m guessing you are either opening a restaurant, getting ready to have one, or shopping with a friend. There’s a wholesale place like that near us in Brooklyn and you have to show some sort of proof of being in the trade to get in. Not sure about the K-9 flags. I thought maybe they were marking where bullet casings were found. But, K-9? You got me. You have a wonderful brown tabby cat. Maybe dental issues? And if you need medical detectives, I hope all turns out okay. Enjoyed the photos and the invitation to put on my thinking cap!

    • Cool is right. Thank you so much for being such a great detective and reader! (Pssst! Sometimes I put clues in the tags for my posts.)

  3. I can always count on you Ann to deliver the truth! ❤
    Diana xo

  4. Ann … As a former reporter, I learned the old adage is true: There are three sides to every story. (His/her side, the other side, and the truth lies somewhere between.)

    And, there might be as many interpretations as there are those reading, listening and viewing that same story.

    I am at a loss to interpret the narrative of your photos. I do hope the medical detectives put you on the right track for a clean bill of health.

  5. We loved True Detective, too. What a great choice for Thanksgiving viewing, Ann! (Tucked in with lots of food and cats, it seems)

    Here’s a song that might make you smile:
    Watching the Detectives, by Elvis Costello
    [Chorus:]
    She is watching the detectives.
    “ooh, he’s so cute!”
    She is watching the detectives
    when they shoot, shoot, shoot, shoot.
    They beat him up until the teardrops start,
    but he can’t be wounded ’cause he’s got no heart.

  6. The story I detect is you braved at least one store. To me, that is very, very brave. I NEVER shop on Thanksgiving, Black Friday, or the weekend following. In fact, I try not to shop at all, except for food, beginning Thanksgiving Day. In fact, I fled the country!
    I detect that I am a bit of a chicken when it comes to crowds.
    I also detect that I am going to check out True Detectives.

  7. I guess I’m going to have to do my own detective work and decide on the rating for this new show. Both my husband and daughter weren’t that impressed but are willing to watch the new season with the ‘new’ detectives. Apparently they didn’t much care for Woody Harrelson or Matthew McConaughey.

    • I detect an improvement in this location, Carol, because you dropped by here today. Great to see you.

      • Thanks Ann, I’ve been very busy and have been behind with reading my emails. I decided to focus on the last three days. I may have to delete some 200 emails that I just can’t seem to get to. We’ll see what I do in the next day or two.

  8. I’m detecting fun, but of course I would. My mind is always on food, or thoughts of baking, cooking and consumption.

    I like to use what I call “the car wreck” analogy. Three bystanders, each standing on an opposing corner from each other. Two vehicles enter the intersection. Both drivers felt they had the right-of-way, but KABOOM! Both vehicles are bunged up and a policeman is called to the site to make a report.

    We have our three folks on corners, each having witnessed the event, we now have a trained officer, plus the two drivers of the vehicles (let’s pretend they were not carrying passengers, or things become even more convoluted). All total we have basically five individuals that know for certain what they saw. Will the officer come to his conclusion upon fact or upon opinion?

    And now I’m back to that warehouse of food. I have forgotten what I’m trying to figure out because at this point I’m starved and I’m tempted by the multitude of offerings. I’m also helpless due to the fact I love making, preparing and consuming food.

    My deduction: this is a glorious place to spend time planning and preparing for the Holidays.
    😉

    • And thank you for this glorious visit and this feast of a comment! That’s how I’m witnessing this encounter, right now.

  9. I think you’ve beaten me there… or maybe it what the the tortoise and the hare found they had recorded when they compared notes at the end of the race.

    • I detect another great comment from you, Hilary. Who knew the tortoise and the hare compared notes at the end of the race? Maybe they both learned something.

  10. I don’t get HBO but wish to get the library to purchase this when it comes out on DVD. I will be happy to have a chance to re-read this once I have seen them. I like the way you are always looking at things in a different way, sometimes skeptical others critically and most of all, how you put a positive spin on things.
    I think you went to Costco or a big food warehouse, but did you also go to the theater or listen to a musical? I am usually a better detective. Did you see my post about P.D. James? I am trying to remember if this is how I got over here today… smiles!

    • I think I did see your P.D. James post, Robin … nice one! And a true detective would see a smile on my face whenever I read your comments.

  11. I like how you play with words 🙂

  12. What a great post. Your playful nature is wonderful, and indeed I do love True Detective.

    • It took me way too long to detect that you had left this comment, JoHanna. Thanks to you for it — better late than never. ❤

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

