Day 693: Fishy

This is the first photo I took yesterday:

IMG_2317

Actually, that is NOT the first photo I took yesterday. I took these two of Harley, one of our two cats, before that one:

IMG_2315 IMG_2316

The photo with the word “fishy” marks the first time yesterday I thought: “Hey!  That would make a great title for a blog post!”

Now that I think of it, those two photos of Harley also fit today’s topic as follows:

  • Harley is a cat, so he likes his food fishy and
  • He is very shy, so he acts like everything is fishy.

In case you’re not familiar with either of those uses of “fishy,” here’s a definition:

fish·y

adjective
1. of, relating to, or resembling fish or a fish.
“a fishy smell”
synonyms: fishlike, piscine
2. (informal) arousing feelings of doubt or suspicion.
“I’m convinced there is something fishy going on”
synonyms: suspicious, questionable, dubious, doubtful, suspect; odd, queer, peculiar, strange; funny, shady, crooked, sketchy

Don’t you think there’s something fishy going on with this post already? Isn’t it suspicious, questionable, dubious, doubtful, suspect, odd, queer, peculiar, strange, funny, shady, crooked, and/or sketchy that I started out with one photo and then quickly switched to some other ones? And, also, that I included a definition WITH NO LINKS OR ATTRIBUTIONS?

Maybe I’m overstating things.

Would it be fishy if I just moved on to some other photos I took yesterday, with “fishy” on my mind?

IMG_2319

Is there anything fishy about that photo, for you?

IMG_2323

On my walk yesterday, I met somebody else who may have eaten something fishy that morning.

IMG_2325 IMG_2328 IMG_2330

IMG_2331

I wonder if that new-to-me neighborhood cat thought the way I interacted and then just walked away was fishy, in any way.

As I mentioned a few days ago, in this post, I had plans to see “Jesus Christ Superstar” with my ex-sister-in-law, Deborah yesterday.  I saw this on my drive to the theater:

IMG_2335

What could be fishier than that?  Perhaps this tuna sandwich I had for lunch:

IMG_2343

I ate that tuna sandwich at a restaurant I used to frequent (fishily eating many tuna fish sandwiches there) when I worked at my previous job (as the director of a psychiatric day treatment program).

Is there anything fishy about these two photos I took after I finished that tuna fish sandwich?

IMG_2347 IMG_2336

Personally, I find it fishy that two accountants could have the name “Kaplow,” which is fishily close to mine (and which I wrote about here while I was recovering from pneumonia six months ago).

After I took those photos yesterday, I drove to the theater to meet my ex-sister-in-law.  The parking lot was absent of fish, cars, and people when I got there, which seemed fishy to me.

IMG_2358

IMG_2360 IMG_2361

As things seemed fishier and fishier, I got a text from Deborah, which said, “I got the tickets.”  When I called her, I found out I was at the wrong theater. “Jesus Christ Superstar,” fishily enough, was actually taking place a few miles away at the REGENT theater, a name fishily similar to the place I went, and the same theater where my 16-year-old son played John Wilkes Booth in “Assassins” this summer (in a performance that was particularly non-fishy).

Would any of you find it fishy if I told you that I made the performance yesterday with minutes to spare?

IMG_2364

That’s Deborah, offering me some gum before “Jesus Christ Superstar” started.  Is that fishy, that I took a photo of that?  I’ll tell you why I did it: I’ve been getting fishily mixed messages lately from my cardiologists, regarding how spry I’m feeling now and may be feeling in the future.

IMG_2365

There are my beloved ex-in-laws Deborah (left) and Laura (her daughter). Deborah doesn’t like to have her picture taken, which I find fishy, since she’s so beautiful. Also, to the far right of the photo is the beautiful Victoria, Laura’s daughter and my son Aaron’s cousin (and close friend). Is it fishy that Victoria is sitting that far away from us?  (I don’t think so, at all.)

The performance of “Jesus Christ Superstar” at the Regent Theater in Arlington yesterday was lots of fun. There were some people in back of us who were talking loudly throughout the performance — which I always find very fishy — and who didn’t stop, despite Deborah and me both turning around and giving them the fish eye.  I took a photo of them

IMG_2367

with my flash turned off, and wondered if they might find that fishy. Knowing I could use that photo in my blog today helped me focus on the music instead of on them.

IMG_2368

After the show, I went home for a walk with my boyfriend Michael in the nice weather, before we went for our Sunday food shopping.

I would think it fishy if you didn’t guess what was coming next.

IMG_2371

IMG_2372 IMG_2373

That’s Vahan, who we see every Sunday when we pick out fish for Michael to cook for me and my son. Vahan was interested in my blog — for himself and his girlfriend —  which I didn’t find fishy at all.

I need to finish this blog fishily early today, to get to a sleep doctor’s appointment by 8:30 AM, before I go to work. However, I think my readers might find it fishy if I don’t include any music here.

Now, I could present the entire score from “Jesus Christ Superstar”  because of the many connections between Christianity and fish but, instead, here’s the first “fish” song that came to mind:

“The Fish (Schindleria Praemeturus)” by Yes found here in a nine-minute live version from Montreux in 2003:

If you have time to watch that whole thing, I find that a little fishy.  Also, is it fishy that YouTube video has only 62 views?

I am fishily not happy enough with these song choices, at this point, so how about this tune, that starts with the word “fish”?

(YouTube video of “Can’t Help Loving Dat Man of Mine” from the film musical “Showboat” which I fishily haven’t seen yet, even though I went to film school in the 1980’s, found here.)

In case you find anything fishy about that, here’s another version of that tune:

(Billie Holiday version found on YouTube here)

What’s fishy about all this, for you?

Thanks to all fish, cats, and people contributing to and reading this post today, including you!

 

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “Day 693: Fishy

  1. I am headed to the fishing village of Bahia Kino in two days, I will greet the fish for you.

  2. Don’t you find it fishy that I have a severe allergy to fish but that I enjoyed reading your blog post today?
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  3. There is lots that’s funny yet nothing fishy about your sense of humor!

    Love the bumper sticker — Subvert the Dominant paradigm! 🙂

  4. Hope today goes swimmingly, Ann. Off the scales, even.

  5. Fish Heads Song:

    and the original, incomprehensible, video where Fish Heads was born:

  6. I do not remember that song. I trolled the ‘net looking for fish songs for you, that that was my catch of the day.

  7. Nothing fishy here, Ann. Fresh views, photos, sounds.

  8. Plenty of weird stuff here: you’re going to Subvert the Dominant (stand on your head?) and do good often, join an accountancy firm, see Jesus Christ Superstar at a theatre that can’t spell Regal… a very fishy post. Hope you feel more spry after you medical checks.

  9. Are you fishing for details? Here’s my “fish” analysis: you are quite observant in life, and thankfully so considering your profession. Here’s a clue about me: Yes is so adept at their craft (Thanks for including the video /music.), and I am spellbound when listening to them. Six months ago you had pneumonia. So did I. Now that’s fishy! 😉

    I show up at the wrong place sometimes. We could call ourselves fishy, but I think we are normal folks who simply have a lot on our minds. We need to practice a bit of yoga before departing for our adventures. 😉

    That little tuxedo was interestingly fishy for me. I have always enjoyed the antics of these sweet little charmers. We now have our third Tuxedo. We lost two: one due to old age, 16. The other was eight when he passed. The fishy part of losing our eight-year old was the tainted cat food he ate was sold through our vets office, manufactured and delivered by one of the largest pet food companies in the U.S. Fishily, we could no longer believe a word they said, nor could we consciously use their product ever again. I take that back. That wasn’t fishy, our intentions were based upon facts.

    I could go on and on about the parallels, but my dog and three cats are not trained in ‘the Art of Gift Wrapping’…I need a bit of yoga.

    • I found this comment fishily illuminating, in lots of ways. Thanks for the details and analyses. I am very sorry to hear about the loss of your tuxedo kitties and glad for all you bring every time you comment.

  10. One thing, not fishy at all, taken in the right context-tuna lunches are the best; in sandwich, casserole, or as I once had it in the hospital as a child undergoing related Polio surgery; baked macaroni surprise.
    -Alan

  11. Pingback: Day 726: Weird | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  12. Pingback: Day 735: Monday matters | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

