Day 685: No matter where you go, there you are

I first heard the sentence

No matter where you go, there you are

in the movie Buckaroo Banzai (which has a longer official title, which I’m not going to look up right now, because I have other places to go).

Let’s see if I can find that quote from Buckaroo Banzai on YouTube:

Not only did I find that clip on YouTube, I discovered that lots of other people around the world love that quote and that movie.   That clip also includes other quotes I like:

Is someone out there not having a good time?

Is somebody crying, out there, in the darkness?

What’s your name?  Who cares?  I care.

Don’t be mean.  We don’t have to be mean.

Anyway, it’s time for us rejoin the adventures of Ann Koplow across the nth dimension (where “n” = how many dimensions you think there are, in this universe).

Today, I am going to Worcester, with my friend Peggy (not Penny), to see Pat Metheny and his Unity Band/Group (which includes Antonio Sanchez, who did the amazing drum score for the movie Birdman) (and if you want to find out more about that score, you could click that link, y’know).

Where am I seeing Pat Metheny and his Unity Group/Band, tonight?

Hanover_Theatre_for_the_Performing_Arts,_Worcester_MA

800px-Hanover_Theatre_Interior (1)

I found both those photos of the Hanover Theater on the Wikipedia website.  The second photo shows the seats I occupied when I watched the “So You Think You Can Dance” tour recently (described here and here).

No matter when I go to the Hanover Theater, there I am.

Yesterday, I went some other places, and there I was.

IMG_2199 IMG_2201 IMG_2202 IMG_2205 IMG_2209 IMG_2210 IMG_2211 IMG_2213

I was stuck in traffic as I tried to make my way to Fenway Studios to say goodbye to my long-time friend and artist extraordinaire, Paul Nagano, who is leaving the Boston area to move to Hawaii.

I finally found a legal, free parking space (!!!!) and there I was, at Fenway Studios:

IMG_2214 IMG_2215 IMG_2216

…  where I saw my old, beloved business partner (and longer-time friend), Jonathan Stark, and his lovely wife, Jen.

IMG_2218

Before I took this picture, I told Jen that I loved her jacket. When I asked if I could include their picture in this blog, Jonathan said, “Yes, but only if you say that my jacket is fabulous, too.” (Jonathan and I worked together, for many years in the 1980’s and 1990’s, creating marketing and advertising materials, including print ads and promotional videos. One of the secrets to our success was to listen to and respect each other’s wishes.) (So there you go, Jonathan.)

I took a few more photos at Fenway Studios, yesterday:

IMG_2219 IMG_2220

… but I didn’t get to spend much time with Paul and his amazing artwork.  Therefore, I am going back there, today, before I head out to Worcester later.

Now, let’s see if everybody has been paying attention. How would you complete this sentence?  “No matter where you go ….”

?

And here’s another question. Are you going with me?

(You can go here to find Pat Metheny and The Metropole Orchestra playing “Are You Going With Me?” in the Netherlands. No matter where Pat goes, there he is.)

Thanks to Buckaroo, Penny, Peggy, Pat, Antonio, Paul, Jonathan, Jen, Birdmen, cats, musicians, artists, and everybody else who ever goes anywhere, including you (of course!).

Categories: friendship, personal growth | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 31 Comments

Post navigation

31 thoughts on “Day 685: No matter where you go, there you are

  1. I have always liked this quote. It reminds me to stop and just be there. I tend to think about where I’m going or where I wish I were or where I just got back from. I need to do this: be here now.

  2. Wow! You and Peggy are going to see Pat Methany and his Unity band, across the nth dimension? What a day! I am thrilled for you.

  3. Andrea

    Enjoying your blog, though I don’t have the patience to read it retroactively. Random observations: Malbec and ginger cookies seem like an outstanding combination; your friend’s wife Jen (with or without the faulous jacket) looks just like Anne Hathaway!

    • Andrea

      Aargh. Wish I could go back and edit the typo…meant to type “fabulous.”

    • Random observations: I am enjoying your visits, already, and I believe there are other outstanding combinations happening here. Many thanks, Andrea.

  4. I believe you are seeing Pat Metheny for the nth time tonight, Ann. And there you are, just were you want to be, buckaroo.

  5. My Dad used to say that all the time. Thanks for the smile!

  6. You seem to travel in good company, with n friends and companions. Thanks for making it n+1 (or is that n+n?
    Vincent
    p.s. that you could find a legal and free parking space is … fabulous!

    • No matter where we go, Vincent, there good parking spaces are! (I’m making a wish for the both of us.) Thank you for this n+1+n fabulous comment.

  7. Enjoy the concert!

  8. Here. Right. Now. Going there sometime later.
    Enjoy that wonderful concert!
    For a quick moment I was nibbling cat ginger cookies and sipping the wind. 😉

  9. Rick

    Buckaroo Banzai is an awesome movie. That quote is also in Mad Max: Beyond Thunderdome.

  10. Your post seems to answer mine about those who decided to disappear for a while. “No matter where you go, there you are.” So true. We have to change ourselves, not necessarily our geographic location, if we want to improve our lives. That’s my take, anyway. Hope you had a great time at the concert, Ann. 😉

  11. Karen Funkenstein

    Didn’t Jon Cabot Zinn write a book entitled “Where ever you go, there you are?”

    • Jon Kabat-Zinn does have some great titles, Karen: that one, yes, and “Full Catastrophe Living,” too. No matter where you go, Karen, you are very smart!

  12. I love that quote and I love how you put it all together and tell an entertaining story as always Ann.

  13. Pingback: Day 686: Are you the artist? | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  14. Sunshine Jansen

    One of my all-time favorite movies! So full of great quotes that apply to surprisingly many situations, and more than one of them involve being or going somewhere (including the rousing “Where are we going?” “PLANET 10!” “When are we going?” “REAL SOON!”) I try to be as flexibly optimistic about going many places, including off-planet… Hope you enjoyed seeing Pat!

  15. Pingback: Day 746: I’m here! | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  16. Pingback: Day 782: Best supporting Oscars | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

