Day 666: Jazz

Anybody who reads my blog probably knows that

I

Love

Jazz.

I’ve loved jazz since the first time I heard Count Basie play on a TV show, when I was very young. (I can’t find that appearance on YouTube, but I found some other Count Basie TV appearances from the 1960’s, here, here, and here.)

When I was in high school, I spent two summers studying jazz piano at Berklee School of Music (now Berklee College of Music).

Not to be judgmental, but I really wasn’t that great at playing jazz piano. Believe me, I’m not being falsely modest here. I’ve simply never had

  • the courage,
  • the technique,
  • the “chops” (as jazz players say)
  • the patience,
  • the stick-to-it-ness,
  • the talent, or
  • the natural ability

…. to improvise on any musical instrument. And improvisation is what makes jazz jazz.

In case you don’t know what improvisation is: in jazz, the musicians  play a tune the way it was written and then they take turns improvising — making up new music within the established chord structure of that song.

So jazz is a wonderful balance of

  • structure and play,
  • dependence and independence,
  • teamwork and individuality.

I never get tired of witnessing great improvisers. I’ve included a lot of them in my blog posts. If you improvise a search through my posts, right now, I’m sure you’ll find some, easily enough.

Actually, I’m going to be kinder than that, right now. Rather than sending you off on a wild-goose chase through my posts looking for examples of good improvisers, I shall take this opportunity to post a jazz tune I love, with two of my favorite improvisers — Pat Metheny and Lyle Mays:

Many times before, in this blogging journey of mine, I have considered posting a YouTube link to “Daulton Lee” (written by Pat Metheny and Lyle Mays, from the soundtrack of movie The Falcon and the Snowman). I’ve often wondered — in the past year and a half — how I could improvise sharing with you that wonderful  and (for me) mood-improving music, but it never seemed to fit any other topic, well enough. It’s not like I’ve written about Daultons or Lees or Falcons or Snowmen.

Snowmen. Hmmmm. Come to think of it, I’m pretty sure I’ve shown photos of snowmen here in the past 22 months (but who’s counting?) since I started blogging.

Oh, well. I guess I can’t be on top of EVERY opportunity to do things I’d like to do.

There’s no time like the present, however! Today, the topic is jazz and I can pretty much post whatever I want!

I’m actually going to return to the past, just for a moment, as I explain to you another reason why I haven’t posted “Daulton Lee” before.  YouTube doesn’t have my favorite kind of jazz video for “Daulton Lee” — that is, a live version with good quality sound.  But the studio version of “Daulton Lee” is good enough, right now.

And I’ve now posted “Daulton Lee!” Another item to remove from my Blogging To-Do List. That’s always a relief.

I will share this with you, though, at this point. I’m not sure “Daulton Lee” is such a great example of jazz improvisation, as I defined it earlier in this post.

Let’s see if there’s another favorite tune I love, that I know I haven’t shared with you before.

I know!  I’ve never included, in any blog post, “Minuano” by the Pat Metheny group. Why?  Same reason as with “Daulton Lee.”  The title doesn’t naturally lend itself to any topic I might tackle here.

Is that YouTube video of the album version of “Minuano” a perfect example of jazz improvisation?  Probably not, but it’s a great nine minutes of music. And here’s a live version I love (even though it doesn’t include the full tune):

Wow!  I’ve really gotten a lot off my plate here today, regarding my favorite music.

Don’t you think it’s about time I explain why I’m writing about jazz today, of all days?

I’m still thinking about my presentation, two days ago, when I spoke about the Koplow Method of group therapy to an audience of other therapists.

As my presentation was ending on Sunday, several people said some kind and complimentary things about the way I do groups, including this:

I love the way you create this clear structure which allows people the safety to play.  It’s like … jazz.

Music to my ears!  I will forever be grateful to that person for improvising, in the moment, one of the best compliments ever.

Telling you that story also lets me segue into this classic YouTube video that my 16-year-old son, Aaron, and I happened to watch last night.

Note: That appearance of the Muppets on The Ed Sullivan Show in the 1960’s is all about somebody really, really, really  wanting to improvise, despite the judgment of others.

Now, how I shall improvise on my well-established blog structure, of showing you photos I’ve taken recently, usually near the end of the post?

Here are some photos I took yesterday, when I was improvising on a visual theme I had chosen for my walk away from work — “Green.”

IMG_1439 IMG_1440 IMG_1441 IMG_1442 IMG_1443 IMG_1444 IMG_1445IMG_1449IMG_1450

Pretty jazzy, huh?

Gotta run to work, where I get to improvise, as best I can.

Thanks to Pat Metheny, Lyle Mays, Jim Henson, and all the other creative masters who helped me write this post today. And — in yet another variation on a theme I’ve included in almost every post I’ve ever written  — thanks to all you jazzy people out there, for visiting here today!

Categories: inspiration, personal growth | Tags: , , , , , , , | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “Day 666: Jazz

  1. I have this sense that no matter where you are, you jazz up the world!

  2. What a great start to my day and inspiration to jazz it up! I love how your group method is like jazz 🙂

  3. Jazz music is one of those red-flag, barrier worlds Ann. Those that have never wandered over from the mainstream often fear it for the very reasons you love it. They listen to the improvisation, the departure from the main structure, and they can’t wrap their heads around the art.

    Me? I think it’s jazzy, cool definition, green-light, a way to explore freedom of the mind and soul and share the creative energy. That sure was a definitive compliment improvised by a satisfied witness to your presentation Sunday!

  4. Mnah Mnah is one of the greats! (And so are you.)

  5. I was laughing just the other day as the Muppets song came on the Halloween Pandora station I was listening to, and I didn’t realize that really was the name of the song – Mahna Mahna!

  6. I have to admit not being the biggest fan of jazz, not because I dislike it, but more because I am so crazy about opera and classical music. I do love some of the composers that tread across the spectrum. In fact one of my favourite pieces is Mihaud’s Creation du Monde – and that sounds pretty jazzy to me.

  7. Loved the inclusion of the Muppets! I’d never seen that.

  8. agwink1942

    I’m jazzed that you love jazz Ann. I once thought I was the only person alive who still love it, and since I’ve only been following you for a little time, this is the first time I have heard you say you love it. And I love all types, from Count Basie to Dixieland. Fell in love with Louis Armstrong the first time I heard him as a teenager back before you were born. He could do it all, the Count was right up there with him and I always wanted to visit Harlem to see them all. Unfortunately Harlem is a long way from Kentucky, and money was tight back then. Still is, for that matter. Louis is gone, Ella’s gone, the Count is gone. Some good ones still around, but I’m still in love with the old timers.

    • I am very happy to see you here, and I’m also very happy to tell you that tomorrow’s post will include one of your (and my) old-time favorites.

  9. Pingback: Day 667: Norms | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

