Day 653: To the 9’s.

“To the nines” is an English idiom meaning “to perfection” or “to the highest degree”. In modern English usage, the phrase most commonly appears as “dressed to the nines” or “dressed up to the nines”.

Wikipedia entry for “To the nines”

Now, to the nine explanations for why I am writing a post about 9 today:

  • I like the idea of using the number “9” instead of the number “10” for perfection (as described in the saying “to the nines”). That gives the 99% of us imperfect humans some space to make mistakes and learn, doesn’t it?
  • I want to finish this post approximately 9 minutes earlier than usual, because I have to be at the hospital for work before 9 AM, because I’m on call for emergencies this morning from 9 to 10.
  • I’m hoping that writing this post reminds me about being on call for 9 o’clock, since 99% of the time I am NOT on call on Wednesdays (I’m usually on call on Monday afternoons).
  • At 10, I have 9 people signed up for a therapy group, and I rate that as a 9 out of a possible perfect 10.
  • On my walk home from work yesterday, I heard a song that has a “9” in the title. Would you like to take 9 seconds and/or 9 guesses for what song that might have been?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • After hitting the “return” key 9 times (and giving you enough friggin’ space, I hope), I shall now show you the song that was playing, yesterday, when I left the hospital after a 9-hour workday starting at 9 AM:

  •  99″ (found here on YouTube) is a tune by Toto which I’ve loved — and have loved to sing along to —  for between 9 and 99 years. My boyfriend Michael and I have had approximately 99 discussions about our disagreements about that band and that song. (Michael 99.9%* dislikes both of them.)
  • About 9 minutes after I heard “99” yesterday, I heard a magnificent piece by a famous composer.  Feel free to take 9 seconds and/or 9 guesses to come up with an answer for what that second 9-related musical piece was. ((Hint: this composer said a word that sounds like the topic of this post when setting limits with people and turning things down).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Before I leave, I need a photo with some 9’s in it. I took this, yesterday, as I was listening to Beethoven’s 9th:

IMG_0885

I wonder how many comments I’ll get on this post today?  (Does it matter to me how many comments I get?  What do you think?)

99,999 thanks to Aaron,Michael,  Ludwig Van, David Paitch, Jeff Porcaro, Steve Lukather, Steve Porcaro, Bobby Kimball,  David Hungate** AND — of course! — to you, for bringing all your perfect and imperfect numbers here, today.


* I originally estimated the percentage of Michael’s dislike of “99” and Toto at 99%. Because truthfulness is more than 99% important to me, I checked out the 99% with him before publishing this post at 7:19, and Michael actually suggested I add the additional .9!  99 additional thanks to Michael for adding more 9’s to this post.

** The last 6  (an upside-down 9) in that list of 9 names are original members of the band Toto, which means, in Latin, “all-encompassing.”

*** You didn’t really expect me to have 9 footnotes here, did you? (Although I did go through the trouble to put in 9 links, people!)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “Day 653: To the 9’s.

  1. I can’t believe I’m the first to like your post today. I’m running late and should be in the shower so I have 9 seconds to reply. Times up. Have a great day!

    • You were actually NOT the first to like it. However, you were the first to comment and I love that approximately 9 times better! Thank you for saying “Ja!” to this post.

  2. 9 is a very pretty number, but it’s an odd – I have to stick with 10, it’s round, it’s even and my OCD just likes it better! 🙂 But, I liked the post and am totally okay with being different!

  3. Close in Spanish, too, Ann. As Stevie has said, in the 9 million times I’ve listened to his song “Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing” “todo esta bien, Chevere,” or, everything’s alright, (girl named) Chevere. And I think I am 99.9 percent certain, like Michael, and Stevie, that to the 9s it will be on this Wednesday, Oct. 15, 2014, for it is a happy day ’round here.

  4. Okay, so 99 percent sure I like that song and 99.9 percent sure I dislike that video! LOL — I was .9 percent better off liking the song without the video!

    Like always, I am 100% sure reading your blog in the morning sets my day off with a 100% spurt of joy!

    • You get an A+, Louise. I weighed the pros and cons of using that video, and decided it had too many 9’s in it to ignore!

  5. Clever and funny.

  6. Nine for the Nine Bright Shiners.

  7. Here’s a perfect song for your theme today – The dreadful Beatles song, Revolution #9

    • It is so perfect, Bradley, that I hid it within one of the links for my post today! Thanks for bringing it out into the open.

  8. Pingback: Day 654: Observed | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  9. 99% cool post, dear Ann and thanks for teaching me something new – I didn’t know the expression To the nines. 🙂

  10. I am always happy to drop by and find out the root of an expression, Ann! I don’t know why, but I have always wondered about where these things come from, so thanks for this gift of passing on the original way it started, or historically comes from.

  11. Pingback: Day 666: Jazz | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  12. Pingback: Day 999: Nein, nein, nein | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.