Day 559: Go Back

I’ve titled this post “Go Back” for many reasons. “Go Back” is …

  • What I’m doing tomorrow, to work.
  • The fall-back plan, in a favorite movie, The Princess Bride.

(found on YouTube here)

  • What dear reader Mark Bialczak is doing tomorrow, to a 9 to 5 job, for the first time in over a year.
  • What I wish some ants would do, right now, to their home-based nest, wherever the hell that is.
  • The “big moment” of Diane Court’s graduation speech, in another one of my favorite movies, Say Anything.

(Found on YouTube, here, at the beginning of lots of clips from that film)

  • What is difficult for me to do, to sleep, after I’m awakened by light, unless I’m wearing this:

IMG_6937

  • What Oscar likes to do, on our balcony bannister.

IMG_6889

IMG_1528 IMG_1558   IMG_1579 IMG_1571  IMG_1499

IMG_1626IMG_1624 IMG_1623 *

… which, this year, will  include my stand-up-comedy teacher from the 1980s, Ron Lynch.

D6D78261-05EA-4214-A8B5F30F9A33703C

(I found this photo of Ron here)

  • Something I and other human beings do, in our minds, into the past.
  • What I did, yesterday, with people I love, to Arlington, Massachusetts, USA.

IMG_6890 IMG_6898 IMG_6894 IMG_6909

IMG_6903 IMG_6905  IMG_6908

IMG_6928

IMG_6935 IMG_6934

I want to go back, for a moment, and say something about that last photo. After boyfriend Michael, son Aaron, and I spent some quality time, yesterday, at the Arlington Alive Summer Arts Block Party, Michael pointed out a personal wish to us:

Buildings under five stories should not, under any circumstances, be called “Towers.”

Here’s my own wish, this morning:

When we go back (no matter how, where, when, or why), we all go without regret, anxiety, or fear.

Thanks to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, to Arlington, to everybody who helped make this post possible, and to you — of course! – for going back here, today.


* These are just a few of the photos I took, last year, at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, appearing previously in posts herehere, here, here, here, and here.

One more footnote: When I go back to an old post, I sometimes find things I need to change. Here‘s the commencement speech from Say Anything:

 

Categories: inspiration, Nostalgia, personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 32 Comments

Post navigation

32 thoughts on “Day 559: Go Back

  1. What fun! I love the Princess Bride.

  2. What a nice way to go back…with adventure, lightness and some humor.

  3. Enjoy your time at the festival Ann!
    Diana xo

  4. Thank you so much, Ann, for today’s theme; for today’s pat on the back; for today’s guidance; for today’s clip from ‘Say Anything,’ one of my favorite movies ever, too; for today’s wise tower reference from Aaron; and, well, for being here today and every day.

    • Thank you for this almost perfect comment, Mark. If you go back and re-read the end of the post, you’ll see that Michael made the wise crack about the tower. But there certainly was a reference to Aaron here, too. As always, I appreciate it, when you say anything.

      • Sorry, Michael. That was a great line about the height requirement for tower stature.

      • No worries, Mark. Have you ever noticed not getting credit for your own great lines? That definitely happens to me, sometimes. And, you know, the young-uns often do get more attention, don’t you think?

      • Yes, I do notice the young ‘uns draw the eyes and ears, Ann. 🙂

  5. Wonderful pictures, great movies…great post. Edinburgh sounds great – lucky lady!

    • I’m looking forward to going back to Edinburgh. Thanks for this thoughtful comment. You’re right: I am lucky — in my life and with my readers!

  6. I get introduced to so many new places, people and events on your blog. It’s like a “stay vacation.” Thank you for sharing.

    • I loved going back to this post to find this comment. Reading your kind words was like a “stay vacation” for me!

  7. Have a great festival. I live on the same side of the ocean, but I’ve still not managed to get there yet.

    • There are lots of things I haven’t attended on this side of the ocean. Sometimes it’s easier to go back to something you’ve done before, because it feels familiar. That’s definitely one of the reasons I’m returning there this year. Thanks for reading and commenting, Hilary.

  8. It is true, buildings under 5 stories should actually never be called towers. It’s just plain misleading. Kind of like claiming that a house with leaking plumbing has ‘water views’.

  9. Pingback: Day 560: Wake Up | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  10. Oooh, I’m jealous. Love Edinburgh. I need a mask, too.

  11. Awwww… I liked watching Andrea the Giant. He was one of my favorite wrestlers too.

    ANTS! UGH! They seem to be making their way into my house & they are not welcomed. I please the 5th on my actions toward ants today…

    • Me too, RoSy, regarding Andre and ants. Why can’t those ants go back to their homes? Geesh! Thanks for dropping by today.

  12. Gene Phillips

    It is great to think of all the wonderful things that you can go back (and forward) to in a world full of richers.

  13. Why am I so excited about your trip to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival? Is it because you’re going to have a wonderful adventure? Hmmm. Well. Kind of. But mostly because I know (based upon careful analysis of your previous posts) that you will post many cool pictures for us…

  14. Pingback: Day 603: What I missed | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  15. Pingback: Day 992: Wait People | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

