Day 176: All wet

Last night, I walked around in the rain, with my bf. We had one umbrella, but we still got wet. That was fun, because it’s pretty hot and humid right now, in these parts.

There are going to be thunderstorms for AT LEAST 10 DAYS IN A ROW, if we believe the weather people.

Believing the forecasters (or any kind of fortune-telling, no matter what the data) is a proposition I sometimes find dubious. (I wrote about the meteorological kind of fortune-telling on Groundhog Day. I write and talk about the cognitive distortion of fortune-telling most days of the year.)

Here are a few of my associations with rain and the title of this post, this morning:

#1.  Spotting bunnies — one of my favorite walk-time activities —  is still possible, if not probable, when it’s raining.

IMG_1145

Because of my policy of honesty, I need to confess that I did not spot this bunny last night — nor at any point when it was raining.  However, I did spot it with impressive proximity in both time and space. (That is, very recently and very close to where I’m typing right now.)

#2.  One of my favorite standard/jazz tunes is “Here’s That Rainy Day.”

(This has nothing to do with the topic, but Ella Fitzgerald is my favorite female singer.)

#3.  The meaning of the idiom “all wet” is

all wet Slang

Entirely mistaken.

Which is an example of “All-Or-Nothing” thinking,  another cognitive distortion.

#4.  Jackie Chan pretty much always gets wet at some point in his made-in-Hong Kong movies (movies I love, which I wrote about, here).

First Strike Jackie Chan

The above is a rather extreme example, from the movie “First Strike.”

#5.  Getting wet is actually not dangerous.

Sometimes, I forget that.  It’s only water, people.

Thanks for reading, this morning.  Stay dry, or not … it’s all okay.

Categories: personal growth, photojournalism | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Day 176: All wet

  1. Great post, thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you for reading and commenting. I enjoyed reading your blog on the day you made this comment and today, too!

  2. Rainy days. nice – except 10 days! Ella is one of the greats. (and speaking of greats, nice bunny picture!)

    • That comment means a lot, especially from a philosopher mouse of the hedge. (Who would be better to rate the quality of a bunny picture?)

  3. Gene Phillips

    There are flood worries here in Wisconsin, and the rain is still coming. I am going to put the Ella song up on Facebook. Thanks. By the way, bunnies are everywhere in Madison as well and part of the Peaceable Kingdom of our yards, along with squirrels, chipmunks, mourning doves, and a variety of other birds.

    • Thank you, Gene. I love the term “Peaceable Kingdom.” Also, when I published this post, it did occur to me that water CAN be very dangerous and destructive. Big time. So I just want to acknowledge that, too.

  4. Pingback: Day 345: Things That Won’t Kill Me | The Year of Living Non-Judgmentally

  5. Pingback: Day 496: Fun with Phobias (Part III*) | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

