Day 570: What’s New?

What’s New?” is a jazz standard I first encountered in the 1960’s.

Here are two versions of it, from YouTube.  Linda Rondstadt:

(found here)

and Frank Sinatra:

(found here)

“What’s New?” is another post title I haven’t used yet, although I have written these posts:

Day 162:  What’s in a name?

Day 218: What’s the problem?

Day 268: What’s $ got to do with it?

Day 401: What’s wrong?

Day 495:  What’s underneath? and

Day 557:  What’s missing?

What’s new?  I’ll tell you, first, what’s NOT new: My starting out a blog post post with a choice of songs AND a review of the past.

So what IS new? Yesterday, eight people came to my Wednesday group.  In my therapy groups, people can participate when and how often they choose, so that many people (new and old) showing up is …. wonderful.

Something we discussed, in group yesterday, is how trying something new can raise anxiety and fear, but also excitement and hope.

So what else is new?  Well, I took some photos yesterday and, for whatever reasons, I was focusing on the new:

IMG_7308 IMG_7309 IMG_7311 IMG_7312 IMG_7317 IMG_7318 IMG_7319 IMG_7322

IMG_7323

IMG_7325 IMG_7328 IMG_7329  IMG_7334IMG_7331 IMG_7333

Here’s something else that’s NOT new, this morning:  I’ve included too many photos to adequately explain now, before I leave for work.  I do want to tell you this, though: the gentleman showing off his new camera, above, is my co-worker Mark,  whom bf Michael and I ran into last night, unexpectedly. Also, what do  you think those berry-looking things are, in the last two photos?  They looked new to Michael and me, so we asked somebody about them, who was kind enough to answer, peel one, and give it to us.

What else is new, for you?

Thanks to Linda Rondstadt, Frank Sinatra, Bob Haggart and Johnny Burke (the creators of “What’s New?”), Michael, Mark, and the nice guy at Whole Foods last night; to people in my therapy groups; to those who try new things; and to you — of course! — whether this is all new to you, or not.

Categories: friendship, humor, inspiration, Nostalgia, personal growth, photojournalism, quiz | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 34 Comments

Post navigation

34 thoughts on “Day 570: What’s New?

  1. The parade of images speaks for itself. No words needed! It was fun peeking into your day…sharing connections.

  2. Luis Del Castillo

    Hi Ann,
    I love it when you write about music, I always learn something new!

    the fruits on the pictures are wonderful!! we call them “Mamon” (with an accent on the o) they are plentiful in Venezuela and when they are sweet they are absolutely delicious, you can pretty much get them from the trees on parks everywhere, the way to eat them is by breaking the skin and open them it has a rather large seed and is covered by the edible portion of the fruit, you eat them like sucking on a candy and peeling off the skin from the seed with your teeth, it’s absolutely delicious! I didn’t know we could get them here, I suppose that’s Wholefoods, right? if they are not ripe they can be a little sour but still good, we usually don’t give them to little kids because they can choke on the seed, hope you tried them.
    take care

    Luis

    • Luis, I have my answer – thank you!
      Diana xo

    • Many thanks, Dr. Del Castillo! I am especially happy that you can learn from me regarding music, since I newly found out (from a friend of yours) that you are a fine musician, too! I am also happy to learn from you about Mamon. The nice produce guy at Whole Foods told us they were a particular kind of lychee nut. Michael and I tried one and I liked it, very much. Always a pleasure to see you.

      And, of course, it’s always a pleasure to see you, too, Diana!

  3. …so what are those berry-like things Ann? :)
    Diana xo

  4. I thought they were lychees (?)
    I’m stimulated Ann with all this newness!
    And Frank’s voice helped too!
    Val x

    • Lychees was what we heard last night, Val. Newness can be quite fabulous, don’t you think? Wonderful to see you here.

  5. I like the Pet Expressions poster very much Ann. My favorite Pet Expression is when my beloved rescue mutt Ellie B looks up and smiles at me! But that’s not new, thankfully.

    • Thanks for sharing particularly wonderful Pet (and other) Expressions, Mark, even if they didn’t include neon colors. I like this comment very much, too.

  6. Hi Ann! The fruit looks like longan to me, which are very similar to lychee nuts. Or they could be lychees. These are delicious, fragrant fruit, delicious on hot days. Also, really really tasty in a shake with rosewater, ice cream and cardamon.

    I’m so glad that you wrote about the anxiety and excitement that comes with starting something new. I’m going back to school in September after a very long time (long enough to have kids and raise them), so I certainly have waves of all those emotions right now.

    • Wow, Maureen. Now I’m really sorry we didn’t buy any of the longan, mamon, lychee nuts, Diana berries, or whatever-we-want-to-call-them last night. Those recipes sound incredible. Thank you for this delicious comment. And I appreciate, very much, what you wrote here about your future return to school.

      • Did you know that longans and lychees are in the same family as soapberries? I just found that out today, but would never have guessed. A principal of a school in Northern BC gave me some frozen soapberries once, picked by some of the students in the area (First Nations). My kids and I whipped them up into something like pink whipped cream. It was fun.

      • I did not know any of these things, dear Maureen. Now I know there are such things as soapberries that do not taste like soap but rather turn into pink whipped cream. Seems like a magical land you live in, up north.

  7. Thanks to commenters, I now know what a “mamon” and/or a “longan” looks like. My blogging experiences consistently opens me up to new information. It’s an ongoing learning experience. Thank you for sharing.

    • Yes, I join with you and share in that — my blogging experiences consistently open me up to new information. Thank you for adding to this learning experience, each time you write here.

  8. I like to walk with you! Wow did you see that old red bus…

    • Yes! That old red bus was parked in back of that hotel for a while (and turned up in some previous, recent posts, if you want to look for it). I always enjoy it when you walk along with me here.

  9. I love Both versions — and your pictures! But dyeing your dog’s hair? No thanks!

    • I’m not dyeing any animal’s hair any time soon, Elyse. I love both versions too and your comment, today.

  10. amusez798387

    I love Linda Rondstadt especially her early stuff. Where is she from?
    I am excited to find out from Wicapedia link SHE AND I SHARE THE SAME BIRTHDAY, she is two years older.

    Mary

    • That is so cool that you share a birthday with the wonderful Linda Rondstadt, Mary! I cannot say that I am surprised. (In case I’m not being clear, I’m trying to say that I think you are wonderful, too.)

  11. Seriously? We are coloring and stenciling designs on our dogs?!? Hopefully that’s just a northern thing! :)

    • Honestly, Kate, I am as surprised as you are. This Northerner has not seen any such thing on actual dogs, at this writing. I shall keep you posted.

  12. What’s new here? My husband has talked me into writing a short story. He wants an entire book but I don’t know if i can pull that off… I don’t know if I can pull off the short story! He seems to think I can, so I should at least try. That is my ‘new’ for now, and it’s kinda fun but intimidating all at the same time.

    Love the photos! The kitty looked really excited about all the potential adopters looking at her. Poor thing… and I think my ‘paws’ over here are colorful enough without all of those rainbow colors all over them. I’ll be skipping that option at the groomers.
    : )

  13. Pingback: Day 571: Anxiety | The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

  14. Just this week – I saw someone walking their PINK pooch!
    Say what?

  15. Gene Phillips

    Fresh lychee are such a great treat as are loquats, which I never see in the stores here.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,742 other followers

